Escapade

by Asma.

111111She raised her gentle brown eyes to meet my cold black ones; smiled her smile and with that she was gone, in the blink of an eye. Her last goodbye already meting into the darkness beyond.

Some people just want to watch the world burn; others let the world watch as they burn themselves. She was the later kind, I guess. Which is better, I still ask myself. Drenching herself in agony brought a certain relief to her. I often wondered how. She never told why. Maybe, it was her way of defying norm, breaking the shackles of freedom, life bound her with. Maybe this was her escapade like she was mine. Maybe.

I tried stopping her. A futile effort, it was; yet earnestly did I beseech, but to no avail. Her resolve strengthened with each word I uttered.

‘Cage this heart of yours dear, do not let it set you on fire’, I had whispered.

‘Fire?’ – she had laughed.

Taking another step towards the edge she had whispered back; ‘I’m already ashes sweetheart.’

